Wikipedia has a pretty good definition for starters. An excerpt retrieved today:

Physical computing, in the broadest sense, means building interactive physical systems by the use of software and hardware that can sense and respond to the analog world.

In this blog, I’m focusing specifically on what can be accomplished with microcontrollers and single-board computers, inexpensive devices that can process real world inputs with simple software, and ouput some really amazing, dynamic processes.

Really, ‘physical computing’ is a fancy name for what I’ve been trying unsuccessfully to do with electronics for years. To me, it represents automation plus innovation, minus the perspiration. The ability to hack my house, my appliances, my car, my stuff. The ability to build features into my devices that weren’t part of the manufacturers design.

This means I can be a maker, not just a consumer.

As I’ve been learning how to use my Arduino Uno, I’ve been relying on people a lot smarter than myself, and copying a lot of successful projects. Its been a brilliant way to learn.

I hope you enjoy reading this blog and I hope that you get yourself a microcontroller board too.

